Author Topic: S.3217, Restoring American Financial Stability Act of 2010  (Read 2404 times)

Offline Bigred

• Violating the Princess Bride since 1987
  • Big Daddy Hero
  • Liked: 0
S.3217, Restoring American Financial Stability Act of 2010
« on: April 23, 2010, 04:58:57 PM »
I've been banking with USAA for nearly 15 years and this is the first time I remember them ever asking for something like this.  This is a damn good bank and now it sound like they will have to change things should the new legislation pass as it is.

Rarely in our 87-year history have we turned to USAA members to weigh in with elected representatives on an issue of great importance. But, we are now.

The U.S. Senate currently is considering legislation (S.3217) that would impose new rules on the nation's financial services industry, including USAA.

As the leading provider of financial services to America's military community, USAA supports financial services reform.

However, the current Senate bill would disproportionally impact USAA because we are a unique and fully integrated association. USAA is not like the banks and other companies that helped bring down our economy, and we never took a penny of TARP funds. We do not engage in the harmful practices this legislation seeks to resolve.

If unchanged, the bill would:

* Prevent USAA from managing the association's portfolio as we have for the past 87 years.
    * Jeopardize our ability to continue offering many of our competitive products.
    * Limit our ability to return money to our members. Last year, USAA returned $1.2 billion to our members in the form of distributions, dividends, and bank rebates and rewards.*

So, we are asking all USAA members and employees to urge their U.S. senators to amend a portion of the bill, known as the "Volcker Rule," to eliminate its effect on a company like USAA. Please know that this legislation does not impact individual member's investments.