Author Topic: Boy Scouts  (Read 3983 times)

Offline Ramblin' Dad

• Nevada Dads do it with Kleenex and Lotion
  • Assistant Admin
  • Big Daddy Hero
  • Liked: 52
  • Submariners Do It Deeper
  • Children?: One (17yo) Son - Jeremy
  • First Name?: John
  • Xbox Gamertag: SubVet688
Boy Scouts
« on: May 16, 2010, 09:58:25 PM »
My son and I have been doing Cub Scouts for the last five years. He crossed over into Boy Scouts in March. The troop he is with is Troop 7322, in Reno. I have been involved as an adult leader throughout and am still at it. Right now I am only a committee member until I finish up some Boy Scout adult leader training, then I will be one of the assistant scout masters for the troop.

The reason I am posting here in the outdoors section is because our troop is very active outdoors. We camp one weekend a month in every month except December for the holidays, and July because of the week long resident camp that our troop goes to. This year the resident camp will be in Sierra Marin.

This weekend was the third weekend that Jeremy and I went out. It was a blast. We camped in a small canyon in the middle of the desert. We had climbing and hiking for activities. Two of our dads are Boy Scout certified climbing instructors an we have all the belaying and repelling equipment. The trrop also went on a five mile hike learning orienteering, plant recognition, and a little geology. Most of all though we had fun.

The troop is broken up into patrols by age group and my son is in Lightning patrol, which is the patrol I started with most of the boys in it, in Webelos, we all just sort of moved up. LOL I am in Elephant Patrol, the adults patrol. Basically our job is to guide and keep the boys from maiming each other.  :laugh2: Otherwise the troop is all boy driven, which is as the Boy Scouts were intended to be.