Author Topic: 4 year old using the toilet  (Read 2387 times)

CRUCIFIEDxx

4 year old using the toilet
« on: June 01, 2010, 10:19:31 PM »
I'm new at this, never dated a woman that has kids.

My womans 4 year old daughter, every time she has to go to the bathroom, she'll come in the room and tell me "I've got to potty" or she will ask, "Can I potty"? Then after she goes to the bathroom, she comes back into the room, and gives me a blow by blow replay-- She sais"I pottied, it went into the toilet, I flushed it and it went down the toilet". When she wakes up in the middle of the night, she'll run into the room, about to piss herself, and say "I've got to potty".

Is this normal? I've told her that she doesn't have to tell me she's got to potty, that she can just go-- but she refuses to do that.
So I started going into her room every time I've got to go to the bathroom, I tell her that I've got to potty, it's starting to get on her nerves, so I'm hoping she catches on-- but if she doesn't, is it normal for a 4 year old to tell us she's got to potty EVERYTIME she has to go?

Offline Frobozz

• Administrator
  • Big Daddy Hero
  • Liked: 68
  • Children?: 2
  • First Name?: Mitch
Re: 4 year old using the toilet
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 10:22:08 PM »
In a nutshell, don't pay it back to her.  Let her tell you the blow by blow details.  It's important to her and at that age the fact that she went by herself is a matter of pride.  She has no one who (pun intended) gives a sh!t about it except her family.  So congratulate her, let her have her moments in the sun.  Gradually this will pass and it won't be an event any more, but don't make her feel bad about it because you can wind up causing unintentional emotional damage that will be much harder to deal with.  Good luck.

Offline Aftrthought051

• Big Daddy Hero
  • Liked: 0
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2010, 09:01:14 AM »