Author Topic: Depression and raising kids  (Read 2824 times)

Heimdallt

Depression and raising kids
« on: February 07, 2012, 06:57:41 PM »
I have been battling depression for 2 years. Doing all the classes and groups I can do so it does not effect my fathering but it is hard.

I have number of major stresses such as bankruptcy, lack of my family my parents and brothers and sisters do not communicate with me. My wife's family is very destructive and highly uneducated. My wife after the last child has been showing signs of OCD and a personality disorder. Which makes me feel horrible and she will lose it at any point.

Just wondering if anyone has had similar paths in life, or has any help

It's not how we fall which defines us but how we rise after falling

Offline Keith

• I have Civil War balls; they're blue and gray
  • Administrator
  • Big Daddy Hero
  • Liked: 77
  • Need any help? PM me.
    • DaddyPlace.com
  • Children?: 4 -- Tyler, Tanner, Kaydence, and Kambria
  • First Name?: Keith
Re: Depression and raising kids
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 08:36:30 PM »
Sorry to hear all of that man.    Life is rough now-a-days.   I have kids with ADHD and OCD.   It is very tough handling this.  Some good in it though is that it doesn't happen everyday.   There are some good days.

Really the only true piece of advice I can give you is to talk to your doctor and see if your wife will do the same.  There are some great meds out there that can help.   The problem is just finding the right one that works for you.

Great Deals for dads on child products, check out Daddy's Deals
Looking for baby names?  Check out the Baby Name Wizard book
New Dad and have questions?  Check out Be Prepared - A Practical Handbook for New Dads.  Recommended by dads.

Heimdallt

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 09:02:37 PM »